badminton wales

Badminton Wales is the sport’s governing body in Wales. It was created in 1928 as The Welsh Badminton Union and in 1934 it was among the founder members of the Badminton World Federation. WBU (Welsh Badminton Union) also became a member of the European Badminton Union in 1968.

The goal is to develop badminton as a sport and to encourage the best players to progress through the structure at club, county, and International level.

Famous Players

Kelly Morgan and Richard Vaughan represented Great Britain at the Sydney 2000 Olympics and Athens 2004 Olympics.

Morgan also competed at the Atlanta 1996 Olympics.

Board of Directors

The Welsh Badminton Union was incorporated as a Limited Company on the 8th December 2003. The Union elected a Board of Directors who are responsible for the running of the company. Each Director is appointed for a maximum period of 3 years.

The Team

Kelly Aston – CEO

Chris Rees – Senior Performance Coach

Natasha Tyler – Development Officer

Donal O’Halloran – National Junior Coach

Genevieve Tyler – Financial Officer

Dave Bendle – Admin Support Officer

Contact WBU

Badminton Wales operates an open communication policy and encourages enquiries and ideas from its membership.

Enquiries and questions will receive a response as long as they are reasonable, do not involve release of confidential information and are from bona fide persons.

Badminton Wales can be contacted in the following ways:

By Post

Badminton Wales

Sport Wales National Centre

Sophia Gardens


CF11 9SW

By Phone

Main Office – 0300 300 3124


The history of the Welsh Badminton Union

International Caps

Welsh Players are awarded an International cap every time they play a full International match at Senior level. Wales is one of the few countries (maybe the only country) that still presents its debutants with an actual cap to signify this major achievement. Wales played its first international in 1929 at home against Scotland (Scotland winning 7-2) at the Craigside Hydro in Llandudno.

National Championships Winners

The Senior Welsh National Championships were first played in 1937 in Llandudno, North Wales at the delightful Craigside Hydro hotel, a rather grand hotel with its own badminton courts. The singles and level doubles events were not introduced until 1960 and 1959 respectively.

Welsh International (Open) Winners

In 1928 the North Wales Badminton Union transformed itself into the Welsh Badminton Union and the annual Welsh Championships were instituted, the first being played in season 1927-28 at Wrexham.

Examples of Activities by Badminton Wales

    • On the 16th and 17th May 2015 a 24 hour badminton challenge took place at Bryn Estyn Badminton Centre in Deganwy to raise money for the British Stroke Association
    • Newport Badminton Club has launched a new Junior Club with Carissa Turner, the current Welsh Badminton Ladies number one, as Head Coach
    • After a break for a year, the Welsh University Cup returned to the event calendar with 5 teams entering from across the country: Bangor, Cardiff Uni, Cardiff Met, Swansea and University of South Wales (USW)